or Login

Testimonials

Carter McHyman

1. John Barnett: Works until you find the perfect place. Listens very well to adjust future showings to what you like to not waste time. Very resourceful and a wealth of information. –The Austins

2. Carter McHyman is the standard by which all agents should be measured. He recently sold my studio apartment in the Carnegie Hill section of Manhattan. I received the same level of service that a larger more expensive property would receive. Most importantly, Carter is ethical, dependable, accessible, and patient. I have bought and sold more that ten properties, and Carter is the best agent in my transactions. –Joan Phares

3. Carter is a consummate broker. He is very knowledgeable about the rental market in Manhattan, especially the UES. He found wonderful tenants for our 3 bedroom/2.5 bath apartment. Whenever we had questions during the leasing process, he responded immediately. He also shared his honest opinion about potential tenants. We really felt that he was advocating for us when negotiating the rent. –Jae Wun Kim

4. Carter was the agent representing the seller when we purchased our co-op 7 years ago. We thought he was very helpful and professional then so we decided to have him list when we decided to sell. He and his team were thorough, professional and above all extremely communicative. They made this experience quite pleasant. We highly recommend. –Patrick Lenz

5. Carter is a true industry expert. He adds tremendous value on both the buy and sell side of a transaction and I have personally worked with him on both. More importantly, he is trustworthy and honest and a great partner to work with while working on a RE transaction. –David Powers

6. John is knowledgeable, punctual, and extremely patient. As another reviewer wrote, he listens well, responding to feedback about apartments to avoid wasting time seeing places that won't work. He is a pleasure to work with! – Karen Hammonds

7. John is a complete professional. He is a problem solver, highly motivated, and honest. He's got that hustle and work ethic that you look for in an agent. He's genuinely interested in houses and architecture and understands the aesthetic that the client is going for. He's also extremely fun to talk to and has a great personality. I'd also like to comment on his attention to detail and his understanding of the NYC housing market. He's got many connections in the industry that he can call on at any time and he's always up-to-date on the latest topics in real estate. –The Isers

8. We met Carter in 2012 and we bought an apartment in New York with his help. Carter is extremely knowledgeable and reliable, was so helpful and guided us throughout the whole process. Carter really took the time to understand exactly what we were looking for and worked with us to make sure that we were able to purchase something that was perfect for us. We would thoroughly recommend Carter to anybody who is looking for Real Estate services. –Chris & Sybil Jones

9. I was very anxious and nervous to sell my studio apt in Manhattan. My sister found Carter for my apt sale. First of all, he was such a pleasure to work with. I felt so at ease and comfortable talking with him. He came over and explained the process to me. It didn't seem long before he had my apt photographed and open houses arranged. My apt was sold for cash within a week. The closing took place and here I am up in my new house upstate. I highly recommend Carter for any of your real estate needs. –Mari Anne Twohie

10. This is my second time working with John and as the founder and CEO of a healthcare social media company, I dont have a lot of time to run around town looking at spaces which would never have a shot at working. John took the required time upfront to understand exactly what my requirements were and showed me only places that foot the bill! After deciding on the space we wanted, John went to work and negotiated a deal that was within my budget. Finally, John made the paperwork part of the process extremely easy for me and closing went off without a hitch. As long as John is in this business, he is my Agent! John, thanks for a job well done. –David Duplay

11. Excellent professional. Reliable and available. Knowledgeable of the sector and the process. It was a pleasure working with Carter and we would do it again for our next transaction. –The Lacagnina Family

12. I was looking for a condo in Manhattan when I came across Carter. He is very accomodating, experienced and knowledgeable. He showed me a lot of condos and always make time for me. He is very prompt and answer my calls/questions ASAP. I would definitely recommend him to my associates. –Alice Ngo

13. I am so grateful that Carter helped us finding an apartment we like. He is very knowledgeable and reliable, also helped us greatly in getting a good price. I will definitely recommend him for any purchase or sale.-Annie Wang

14. Excellent, EXCELLENT! Carter was not only knowledgeable, ready to help in every possible manner, but he was also a PURE PLEASURE to deal with! Our building was one of the most stringent in allowing new co-op owners in. Under Carter's expert guidance we were able to navigate those treacherous waters and return with success in record time (as we had a timing issue).

He really cares for his clients and you will never find Carter making excuses why he can't be somewhere or can't do something. He will always return your calls promptly, soothe your nerves when in trouble and make the whole thing happen!

His market knowledge is also very prominent, even though he understates it in the Carter unamicable way. In a world of cut throat, too busy for you NYC real estate agents Carter is an island of salvation.

Do yourself a favor and USE HIM! – Alex Aliksanyan

15. A delightful and trustworthy person. A true professional who understands the nuances of New York residential real estate. He made my wife and me very comfortable and was very patient with our process. –Ben G

16. In life we have been so numb to bad experiences that when things don't blow up- we accept average as good. Carter is one of the few people in life where I can honestly say is the cream of the cream. Top notch and so above and beyond anything you expect in any industry- much less Real Estate. I can honestly say you will be treated with white glove service above and beyond. You will not only he happy- you will be delighted. –Amal

17. Carter McHyman is undoubtedly the finest real estate broker we have had the pleasure to work with. As real estate attorneys in New York City, we have worked with countless brokers and Carter is unique in his professionalism, knowledge of the market, enthusiasm, dedication and personality. In terms of his professionalism, Carter is truly interested in the needs of his clients and will only show them apartments that he knows will suit their needs and they will be happy with. He is intimately familiar with all neighborhoods in New York and is thus consistently able to serve clients throughout the city. His knowledge of property values is also unmatched and he always does his homework, which enables him to get the highest prices for his seller clients and the best deals for his buyers. His enthusiasm is infectious; for clients searching for an apartment with Carter, the process is fun and enjoyable. Carter’s work ethic is unbelievable and unmatched—he will not rest until his clients are satisfied. In short, Carter is like no other and we whole-heartedly recommend him to all sellers and buyers who are entering the market. – Bruce Lieber and Barbie Lieber

18. Carter helped us find our new apartment on the Upper East Side of New York City. He grew up in the area and is very knowledgeable about the neighborhood. In addition, Carter is responsible and patient. Over a two year period, he tirelessly showed us all possible apartments in the area until we found our dream home. The apartment is currently under renovation, we could not wait to move in and invite him over. –The Goldbergs

19. Carter was very helpful in looking at places and providing advice on the loan process. Obtaining a loan in NYC can be a difficult and tricky process so having some that was proactive is helpful. –The Stopars

o aliceten99 reviewed Carter McHyman
o 01/08/2014
o Other

I was looking for a condo in Manhattan when I came across Carter. He is very accomodating, experienced and knowledgeable. He showed me a lot of condos and always make time for me. He is very prompt and answer my calls/questions ASAP. I would definitely recommend him to my associates.

o annie rwang reviewed Carter McHyman
o 11/13/2013
o Helped me sell a home

I am so grateful that Carter helped us finding an apartment we like. He is very knowledgeable and reliable, also helped us greatly in getting a good price. I will definitely recommend him for any purchase or sale.

o AlexOAliksanyan reviewed Carter McHyman
o 11/12/2013
o Helped me buy a home

Excellent, EXCELLENT! Carter was not only knowledgeable, ready to help in every possible manner, but he was also a PURE PLEASURE to deal with! Our building was one of the most stringent in allowing new co-op owners in. Under Carter's expert guidance we were able to navigate those treacherous waters and return with success in record time (as we had a timing issue).

He really cares for his clients and you will never find Carter making excuses why he can't be somewhere or can't do something. He will always return your calls promptly, soothe your nerves when in trouble and make the whole thing happen!

His market knowledge is also very prominent, even though he understates it in the Carter inimicable way. In a world of cut throat, too busy for you NYC real estate agents Carter is an island of salvation.

Do yourself a favor and USE HIM

o ben4156 reviewed Carter McHyman
o 11/11/2013
o Other

A delightful and trustworthy person. A true professional who understands the nuances of New York residential real estate. He made my wife and me very comfortable and was very patient with our process.

o AMALNJ reviewed Carter McHyman
o 11/11/2013
o Helped me sell a home

In life we have been so numb to bad experiences that when things don't blow up- we accept average as good. Carter is one of the few people in life where I can honestly say is the cream of the cream. Top notch and so above and beyond anything you expect in any industry- much less Real Estate. I can honestly say you will be treated with white glove service above and beyond. You will not only he happy- you will be delighted.

o Bruce Lieber reviewed Carter McHyman
o 12/18/2012
o Helped me sell a home

Carter McHyman is undoubtedly the finest real estate broker we have had the pleasure to work with. As real estate attorneys in New York City, we have worked with countless brokers and Carter is unique in his professionalism, knowledge of the market, enthusiasm, dedication and personality. In terms of his professionalism, Carter is truly interested in the needs of his clients and will only show them apartments that he knows will suit their needs and they will be happy with. He is intimately familiar with all neighborhoods in New York and is thus consistently able to serve clients throughout the city. His knowledge of property values is also unmatched and he always does his homework, which enables him to get the highest prices for his seller clients and the best deals for his buyers. His enthusiasm is infectious; for clients searching for an apartment with Carter, the process is fun and enjoyable. Carter’s work ethic is unbelievable and unmatched—he will not rest until his clients are satisfied. In short, Carter is like no other and we whole-heartedly recommend him to all sellers and buyers who are entering the market. – Bruce Lieber and Barbie Lieber, of Lieber & Lieber, LLP.

o user4144150 reviewed Carter McHyman
o 12/18/2012
o Helped me buy a home

Carter was very helpful in looking at places and providing advice on the loan process. Obtaining a loan in NYC can be a difficult and tricky process so having some that was proactive is helpful.

o user8734033 reviewed Carter McHyman
o 12/18/2012
o Helped me buy a home

Carter helped us find our new apartment on the Upper East Side of New York City. He grew up in the area and is very knowledgeable about the neighborhood. In addition, Carter is responsible and patient. Over a two year period, he tirelessly showed us all possible apartments in the area until we found our dream home. The apartment is currently under renovation, we could not wait to move in and invite him over.

“I consider it a privilege to have had the opportunity to build a close working relationship with Carter, and to have been privy to the methodology with which he approaches his work. His shrewd business acumen is as boundless as is his authentic desire to be of service to others. His profound knowledge of the real estate market is on a par with the most tenured professionals of his field. His knack for negotiation – calm collected and respectful as it is artful – is of consistent benefit to the clients for which he puts in work. That being said, what renders Carter a singularly formidable professional is the ethos upon which he has built his practice; he knows full well that, in the business world, integrity is everything. Indeed, Carter affords frank advice to those who needs it, time to those who request it, and charity to those causes that deserve it.”
Daniel Dolgicer, Senior Field Sales Manager, CUTCO Cutlery (Business Partner)


“The Man”
Jeremy Deutsch, Owner, Deutsch Consulting Corp. (Business Partner)


“Carter is the man to get your property sold. His greatest assets are his genuine interest in people, his
integrity, his follow up, and his diverse experience.”
Phillppe Chamoun (Client)


 “Carter helps to make the stressful experience of house of apartment hunting much more fun than you ever knew it could be! He is a wonderful listener and extremely client focuses. He returns calls and sets up appointments promptly. Carter is always transparent and honest and truly wants you to find your perfect home. Highly recommended.”
Jenna McGraw (Client)


“Carter is responsive, positive and energetic. You can always count on Carter to follow through and handle the most delicate situation with integrity and class.”
Katie Morgan, Recruitment Manager, The Waldorf Astoria (Colleague)


“Carter was a great real estate broker for me. He sought out great deals for my price range and was very patient as I searched for my perfect apartment. He was an expert in NYC real estate market and had great referrals for attorneys and mortgage brokers.”
Russell Marka (Client)


“I have known Carter for more than 2 years now since we started looking for a new home. He has my highest recommendation for his line of work. Carter is professional, sincere and patient. He is someone I will return for any future transactions.”
Elaine Hsu (Client)

 

 
Dear Carter,

Our “thank you” seems so small compared to all you’ve done, but it comes from our hearts. Knowing you were there cheered us on and made things so much easier. For one person you do an awful lot of good; you are certainly one out of a million.

We wish for you all the health, luck and success in the world.

Your gift was greatly appreciated, very luxurious! The irony of it, besides being great champagne, is that we collect, ‘Gallé Glass’. How did you know? One more mysterious thing.

Much love,
Harold & Sandy Berel

 

"Carter is a true asset to his profession. He is courteous, professional, listens to his clients’ needs, and has a clear understanding of the real estate market. I have recommended many clients to him and have never had a complaint. His follow-up skills are second to none, his market knowledge is up-to-date and he is a partner to the client and the entire transaction team. Excellent in every way both professionally and personally."
Tonya Quarequio , owner/principal broker, celebrity mortgage corporation

"I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for all you have done for us. You did a magnificent job and went over and beyond the call of duty such as providing paint to paint our home, held numerous open houses to sell our home in the shortest possible time period, provided countless mailings and ads, facilitated the sale of the property in every possible way, and had numerous mortgage brokers assist us with the obtaining the best financing package available. We want you to know how much we appreciate your kindness and know that you will be forever in our hearts."
Joseph A.

"It was so good to meet you on Saturday. Thank you for taking us to breakfast and for making time to meet me. More than any of that, thank you for taking such great care of my dear uncle. You have no idea how much I appreciate all that you but great personal care as well. So from the bottom of my heart, thank you. All the best!"
Mary W.

"Carter McHyman is the most intelligent and professional real estate broker that I have had the opportunity and pleasure to work with. Always guided by what was in my best interest, he provided us with all pertinent information necessary for making a proper buying decision. What I loved about him the most is that he has a great sense of humor and made the entire transaction not only stress-free, but a total joy from start to finish. He delivered exactly what we asked for!"
Erica B.

John Barnett

“I worked with John for 5 months looking for the perfect place in the city and I couldn't be happier with the result. He was committed to understanding the aspects that were most important to me specifically, in aesthetic, location, and price. I never felt pressured or confused during the process. After only a few viewings I could tell he completely understood what I was looking for and worked to hone in on those properties. We easily worked out schedules and I was impressed by his professionalism, combined with an easy going nature. He made my search seem to be his top priority. Looking for a home in the city is one of the biggest decisions and it was so great to have a partner to search with who was on my side the whole way. I couldn't have asked for a better experience in real estate and I feel so fortunate to have worked with him.”
-Holly Cornell

"I could not have been happier than with my experience of working with John Barnett, he was responsive to my every question and request and very quickly understood what I was looking for. Once I found the apartment I wanted to buy he was able to walk me through the entire process quickly and seamlessly.” - Nina Hagen

“When my wife and I decided to move to NYC, we dreaded the thought of having to deal with a stereotypical Big Apple rental agent (aggressive, impatient, obnoxious). How very surprised and lucky we were to find John! With John instead of the usual car salesman approach, we got a real solution sales consultant. Most importantly, from the very start he listened carefully to what we wanted (what a concept!), suggested a range of possibilities, and spent a lot of time with us showing us apartments that actually did suit our needs. Thanks to John, we found a place on the Upper West Side that we absolutely LOVE. When and if we move, he’ll be the first person we call." - Bob and Nyna Malley

"We relocated from St. Louis to New York City. We started working with John about a year ago upon a recommendation from a friend. We visited for a weekend just to meet John and to see a variety of apartments. We wanted to get a feel for the city and receive the necessary information to rent in the city. John was a wealth of information and took us to a wide variety of apartments all over the city and Brooklyn as we requested. We were impressed by his eagerness to help us even though we were not moving for a year. We decided he would be the broker for us. We had never rented an apartment before and we are very particular. John was very patient and listened to our likes and dislikes with each showing. Throughout the year, he kept in contact with us through email and mailing us current information about renting and purchasing in the city. When we visited to seriously look for our new home, John showed us exactly what we liked. It only took two weekend trips to NYC for John to find us our perfect apartment with everything on our checklist in our budget. We couldn't be happier with our apartment or with John. We look forward to working with him in the future when we decide to purchase a place or upgrade to a bigger apartment.” - Matt and Lisa Austin

THE MCHYMAN  TEAM

THE MCHYMAN TEAM

At Douglas Elliman Real Estate


575 Madison Ave

New York, NY 10022

Office: 212.891.7691

Mobile: 917.776.7623

 

CONTACT ME

Email us »

Download vCard »

 

or Login